12 Angry Jurors performed in Fayetteville

FAYETTEVILLE — Is he guilty or isn’t he? That’s the central question in 12 Angry Jurors, a classic stage play being performed by Lincoln County’s Carriage House Players beginning this Thursday.

Written in 1954 by Reginald Rose, it’s a work that’s evolved from the stage to the television to the big screen. Audiences might recall the 1997 remake that starred Jack Lemmon, Mary McDonnel, Edward James Olmos, and James Gandolfini. The play revolves around an 18 year old defendant accused of murdering his father. If found guilty, he’ll lose his life in the electric chair. The jury must decide his fate … and all 12 must agree in order for justice to be served. The play examines the themes of conformity, persuasion, and takes a closer look at group think mentality.

The Fayetteville performance stars Dowel Burnett, Mike Steelman, Scott Wingard, Sonya Evans, Mickey Johnson, Anissa Webb, Henry Webb, Mary Ashley Webb, Craig Clemons, Brandi Barnes, Lonnie Ables, Katie Blackwood, and Tami Newcomb. It’s directed by Brenda Wilkes. Performances take place this Thursday, Friday, and Saturday (January 30 thru February 1) and again next Thursday, Friday, and Saturday (February 6-8) at the Lincoln County Museum Theater. All performances are at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $15 for adults and $8 for students and may be bought in advance at Bagley & Bagley Insurance, Carter’s Drug Store, or The Flower House in Fayetteville. You may also purchase ticket by calling 931-433.1300. For up to the performance update, check out the Carriage House Players Facebook page. •

{The Lynchburg Times is an independently owned and operated community newspaper that publishes new stories every morning. Covering Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}

Leave a Reply