Local News

Harrison and Cauble win in County General Election

Moore County is an interesting place to be on Election Nights. Locals gather around the Lynchburg Gazebo waiting on results to be written in on the big board. {Lynchburg Times Photo}

As polls closed in Moore County at 7 p.m. on Thursday, as is tradition, folks started gathering near the gazebo on the square for election results. Local General Sessions Judge Terry Gregory served as the “unofficial” town crier as he moved back and forth from the County Building bringing out the new precinct totals. Election nights in Lynchburg are a charming, small town affair.

There were only two contested race this year in the County General election: Metro Council District 4 and Assessor of Property. Road Superintendent candidate Shannon Cauble was officially running unopposed but local Chris Bateman ran as a write in candidate.

Four candidates vied for three seats on the Metro Council District Four. The final votes were Peggy S Blackburn 190 votes, Arvis N. Bobo 220 votes, Bradley K. Dye 229 votes, and Patrick A Maynard 175 votes. The top three won. New members Blackburn and Dye as well as incumbent Bobo will represent District Four at the next Metro Council meeting.

Two candidate competed for Metro Assessor of Property. Incumbent Wayne Darrin Harrison won with 1,058 votes. Rhonda L Sawyer earned 592 votes.

In uncontested races, Amy L. Cashion, Sunny Rae Moorehead, and Shane E. Taylor were all elected to the Metro Council’s three First District seats. Keith Moses will continue to represent District 3 at the Metro Council.

Shannon F. Cauble (1,301 votes) will become our next Road Superintendent. She bested write in candidate Chris Bateman (298 votes).

Three new Metro School Board members won in uncontested races: Greg Thompson, District 2; Nathan Buchanan, District 4, and Tanya Vann, District 5.

William Noles was also elected to the Urban Service District. He also ran unopposed. •

{The Lynchburg Times is the only independently owned and operated newspaper in Lynchburg. We cover Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}

Categories: Local News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply