Local News

Hagerty, DesJarlais win Republican primary races

Two State Republican primary elections took place Thursday night: one for U.S. Senate and another for U.S. House of Representatives.

In a primary battle that overtook television and social media with leading candidates Bill Hagerty and Manny Sethi swapping licks to replace retiring Senator Lamar Alexander, Hagerty won the Republican nomination for United States Senate by a wide margin. He earned 330,893 (50.8%) to Dr. Sethi’s 256,732 (39.4 %)

In Moore County, Sethi won with 627 votes to Hagerty’s 600. It was close.

In the U.S. House of Representative District 4, incumbent Scott DesJarlais won. The final state vote totals were Scott DesJarlais (55,178), Doug Meyer (14,173) and Randy Sharp (8,279).

Republican State Senator Shane Reeves and Republican State Representative Iris Rudder both ran unopposed. •

{The Lynchburg Times is the only independently owned and operated newspaper in Lynchburg. We cover Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}

Categories: Local News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply