Local Click It or Ticket Campaign begins November 16

Local authorities will increase seat belt enforcement beginning November 16 during the annual Click It or Ticket safety campaign. (File Photo)

LOCAL NEWS — The first federal seat belt law went into effect on January 1, 1969 and initially seat belt usage was voluntary. Then in December 1984, New York became the first U.S. state to pass a mandatory seat belt law. Tennessee followed suit in April 1986 and it’s pretty much been the law of the land ever since. Still, local authorities say you’d be surprised at the number of drivers who still attempt to drive unrestrained.

On November 16-29, the Metro Moore County Sheriff’s Department (MMCSD) along with the Tennessee Highway Safety Office (THSO) will participate in the annual Thanksgiving Click It or Ticket safety campaign.

“During the Click It or Ticket campaign, we’ll be working with our fellow law enforcement officers across local and state lines to ensure the seat belt safety message gets out to all drivers and passengers,” said Captain Shane Taylor. “By far, buckling up is the simplest thing you can do to limit injury or save your life during a crash. We see the results of not wearing a seat belt all the time. We see the loss of life and devastating injuries that could’ve been prevented with the simple click of a seat belt. That’s why buckling up is more than just a good idea — it’s the law.”

In Tennessee, all drivers and front seat passengers are requires to wear seat belts whenever a vehicle is in forward motion. Although Tennessee law does not require adult back seat passengers to buckle up, all children under age 18 are required to wear a seat belt regardless of riding in the front or back. In our state, a seat belt infraction can be either a primary or secondary offense.

According to NHTSA, in 2018, there were 9,778 unbuckled passenger vehicle occupants killed in crashes in the United States. In that same year, 56 percent of passenger vehicle occupants killed at night (6 p.m.–5:59 a.m.) were not wearing their seat belts. That’s why one focus of the Click It or Ticket campaign is nighttime enforcement.

Participating law enforcement agencies will be taking a no-excuses approach to seat belt law enforcement, writing citations day and night. In Metro Moore County, the maximum penalty for a seat belt violation is $25 for the first offense and $50 for the second or subsequent offenses.

For more info about seat belt safety or the THSO, visit their website. •

{The Lynchburg Times is the only independently owned and operated newspaper in Lynchburg, Tennessee. We cover Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}

Leave a Reply