Early voting starts on Friday, July 12

Above is the August 1 State Primary and County General Ballot as supplied by the Moore County Administrator of Elections. | Graphic Provided

LYNCHBURG – Early voting kicks off on Friday in Moore County and throughout the state. Early voting runs from Friday, July 12 through Saturday, July 27. Absentee ballots can be requested through July 25.

In the County General election, two Metro Council districts are up for re-election. In District 1, Amy Rhoton Cashion, Sunny Rae Moorehead, Darrel Richards, and Shane Tylor will run for three available seats. In District 4, Peggy Sue Blackburn, Arvis Bobo, Lucille Coleman, and Bradley K. Dye will run for three available seats.

Incumbent Shawn Sherrill will run against Tom Taylor for the Moore County Assessor of Property. Shannon Cauble will run unopposed for Roads Superintendent.

In Moore County School Board elections, Nathan Buchanan and Kaleigh Fletcher Hatfield will run for one available seat in District 4. Tanya Syler Vann will run unopposed in District 5. No candidate qualified in District 2.

State Primary elections

The State Republican and Democratic Primary and County General elections will also take place on Thursday, August 1.

There are two opposed elections happening on the Republican side. Incumbent Marsha Blackburn will face Tres Wittum for U.S. Senate and incumbent Scott DesJarlais will face Thomas E. Davis and Joshua James for U.S. House of Representatives. Current State Senator Shane Reeves and State Representative Pat March will both run unopposed.

On the Democratic side, incumbent U.S. Senator Gloria Johnson will face three candidates: Marquita Bradshaw, Lola Denise Brown, and Civil Miller-Watkins. Matt Ferry and Erick E. Huth will compete for State Executive Committeeman, District 14.

Democratic U.S. House candidate Victoria Isabel Broderick and State Senate candidate E.R. Smith will both run unopposed. No candidate qualified to run on the democratic side for State House, District 62 seat.

There are two judicial retention questions: Dwight Tarwater for Supreme Court at large and Matthew J. Wilson for Court of Criminal Appeals in the Western Division.

Local elections are run by Administrator of Elections Jim Sanders as well as the Moore County Elections Committee: Lorraine Carter (chairperson), Gary Russell (secretary), Eddie Mincher, Dan Boshers, and Will Shavers.

For information, visit the Tennessee Secretary of State’s election site at this link. •

{The Lynchburg Times is a nonpartisan, independent community newspaper serving Lynchburg, Tennessee and the surrounding counties. We are dedicated to public service journalism for the greater good of our community. You can support us, by clicking here.}

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.