Metro Budget stalls; way forward uncertain

LOCAL NEWS — With the June 30 deadline looming, the Metro Council failed to pass the second reading of the 2021-22 Metro Budget during Monday night’s regular session meeting.

The budget failed by a 7-5 vote with Denny Harder, John Taylor, Arvis Bobo, Wayne Hawkins, Amy Cashion, Bradley Dye, and Houston Lindsey voting in favor. Sunny Rae Moorehead, Megan Bailey, Tommy Brown, Keith Moses, and Gordon Millsaps voted against the budget.

Shane Taylor, Gerald Burnett, and Peggy Sue Blackburn were absent from the meeting.

Metro Moore will continue to operate under the current tax rate of $2.38 until a new rate passes three separate readings or September 1, which every comes first.

“It it’s not resolved by then, the state will step in and do it for us,” Metro Attorney John T. Bobo explained to the Council.

Mayor Lewis stated in the meeting that Metro Moore had extended beyond the June 30 deadline at least two times in the past. •

{The Lynchburg Times is the only independently owned and operated newspaper in Lynchburg. We cover Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}