Moore teachers will receive 2021 bonuses

MOORE COUNTY — If 2020 taught us anything, it’s that our hard-working teaching and support staff at Moore County schools are absolutely essential and the Metro School Board voted on Monday to show their appreciation with a one time bonus.

The Metro School Board of Education unanimously approved the allocation of one time bonuses for all teachers on Monday night. Board member Nathan Buchan abstained from voting as his wife, Liza Buchanan, works as a teacher for the school system.

The Tennessee General Assembly and Governor Bill Lee recently passed legislation to fund the one time bonus for all teachers and certified personnel in Tennessee between January 1 and June 30. In total the state allocated $42 million for this purpose and Moore County’s share was $35,500.

During Monday’s meeting, Director of Schools Chad Moorehead asked the Metro School Board to allocated an additional $500 in matching funds to make it an even $36,000 to ensure that after the various withholdings that the entire allocation went to the teachers. There are 82 eligible positions and each would receive around a $356 one time bonus.

“We’ll need to withhold the usual items like employee Medicare, FICA, and district retirement. I want to make sure my math is correct and I want to ensure that every state dime gets spent on our teachers,” Director Moorehead stated.

Director Moorehead also reported to the board that he was working on a second bonus for all support staff that could be funded with federal COVID dollars. That bonus is contingent on Tennessee Department of Education approval.

“There’s not a bus driver, custodian, teachers aide or other support staff that hasn’t worked extra hours or performed extra duties due to COVID 19,” Director Moorehead stated.

Fifth District board member Tanya Vann made the motion to move $500 from the general budget to match funds for the teacher bonus and gave Director Moorehead permission to pursue federal dollars for a matching grant for Moore County Schools support staff bonues. Second District Board member Greg Thompson seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

The next Metro School Board meeting will take place on Monday, March 8. If held virtually, members of the public will be given log in credential if requested before 3 p.m. that day. For more information, contact your district’s board members via email (click here for those address) or Director Moorehead at 931-759-7303. •

{The Lynchburg Times is the only independently owned and operated newspaper in Moore County … covering Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, the Lynchburg Music Fest, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}