Stewart, Wolaver, Ivey win the night in August 4 election

The historic Lynchburg square filled with activities from vote counting to corn roasting during Election Night on Thursday. (Photo Courtesy of Debra Dickey)

LYNCHBURG, Tenn. —It’s 6:30 p.m. and they’re setting up the infamous white board at the Lynchburg Gazebo. It’s Election Night here in Moore County. As locals gather around the historic Lynchburg Square, election officials prepare to deliver live local results. There’s a lemonade stand. The Moore County Volunteer Fire Department is roasting corn. It’s a unique scene.

Retiring County Clerk Nancy Hatfield and her trusty partner Gale Preston will man their station at the gazebo soon. Hatfield’s not on the ballot this year and so the coveted spot as “unofficial Moore County vote tally person” falls to her. Usually, General Session Judge Terry Gregory does the honors but he’s running for re-election this year – even if it is unopposed.

The Moore County Sports Network’s student broadcasting team and The Lynchburg Times also teamed up this year to deliver live election results. Those who couldn’t make it to the square were able tune in to the MCSN’s Jonah Deal and The Times Editor Tabitha Evans Moore live via Raider Radio as results trickled in.

Moore County General Election Results

The polls officially closed at 7 p.m. and results started rolling in immediately – first the early voting and absentee votes then the districts. About an hour later, all five Moore County voting districts reported and the races were decided.

Sloan Stewart earned a second term as Metro Moore County’s mayor. He earned 705 total votes followed by Leanne Durm with 559, Keith Moses with 396, and Jason Estfon with 192.

The tightest race of the evening happened between Kelly Woods Harrison and Lacy Ivey who vied to replace retiring County Clerk Nancy Hatfield. In the end, Ivey edged Harrison by just 58 votes – earning 946 votes to Harrison’s 888.

Linda Wolaver earned re-election as Moore County’s Circuit Court Clerk with 989 votes to her opponent’s, Angelica Lightfoot, 844.

There were four candidates running for the Metro Council’s Second District. The top three earned a seat. Douglas Carson earned 207 votes followed by incumbent John Taylor with 215 votes. Robert Bracewell got the final spot with 164 votes — just eight votes more than retiring Metro Mayor Bonnie Lewis.

There we’re also four candidates vying for the Metro Council’s three fifth district seats. Incumbent Gerald Burnett earned re-election with 163 votes followed by newcomers Greg Guinn’s 153 votes and Jimmy Hammond’s 145 votes. Preston Hill also received 118 votes.

Just three candidates ran in the Metro Council third district race meaning that Marty Cashion, Dexter Golden, and incumbent Houston Lindsey all earned a spot for the next term.

Ed Cashion earned another term on the Metro School Board with 244 vote to Schug Claus’s 59 votes.

We’ll provided all numbers once they are officially certified by the Secretary of State. You can view the unofficial results for the August 4 Election, by clicking here.

{The Lynchburg Times is the only locally-owned newspaper in Lynchburg and also the only woman-owned newspaper in Tennessee. We cover Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}