Here’s who is running in the August 4 Moore County General Election

Moore County’s “Big Board” will make its way to the Lynchburg Gazebo again the August for the Moore County General Election. Local officials released the list of qualifying candidates on Thursday afternoon. (A Lynchburg Times Photo)

LYNCHBURG, Tenn. — Their campaign signs are already gathering on the state highways and local back roads. Yesterday marked the final day for would be candidates to qualify to appear on the August 4 County General Election ballot and the Moore County Election Commission confirmed a list of qualifying candidates on Thursday afternoon.

Local offices open for election or re-election this year include: Metro Mayor, Register of Deeds, County Trustee, Circuit Court Clerk, County Clerk, General Sessions Judge, Sheriff, Metro School Board District 1, Metro School Board District 3, Metro Council District 2, Metro Council District 3, and Metro Council District 5.

The qualifying candidates according to the Moore County Election Commission are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Metro Mayor: Leanne Durm, Jayson Estfon, Keith Moses, and Sloan Stewart

Register of Deeds: Pam Wells

County Trustee: Lynn Harrison

Circuit Court Clerk: Angelica Lightfoot and Linda Wolaver

County Clerk: Kelly Woods Harrison and Lacy Ivey

General Sessions Judge: Terry Gregory and Jeffery Schofill

Sheriff: Tyler Hatfield

Metro School Board District 1: Edward Cashion and Klaus Schug

Metro School Board District 3: Jammie Cashion

Metro Council District 2: Robert Bracewell, Douglas Carson, Bonnie Lewis, and John Taylor

Metro Council District 3: Marty Cashion, Dexter Golden, and Houston Lindsey

Metro Council District 5: Gerald Burnett, Greg Guinn, James Hammond, and Preston Hill

The withdrawal deadline for all candidates is Thursday, April 14 by noon.

As provided by the Tennessee Secretary of State, these are the deadlines associated with the upcoming August 4 General Election.

In addition to the County General election, the August 4 Election will also serve as a primary for Governor, U.S. House of Representatives, odd numbers Tennessee Senate seats, and Tennessee House of Representatives. •

{The Lynchburg Times is the only independently owned and operated newspaper in Lynchburg. We cover Metro Moore County government, Jack Daniel’s Distillery, Nearest Green Distillery, Tims Ford State Park, Motlow State Community College, Moore County High School, Moore County Middle School, Lynchburg Elementary, Raider Sports, plus regional and state news.}