Motlow hosts Columbia on Thursday in Region 7 championship game

Motlow State's Camden Prosser battles for position against Columbia State
Motlow’s Camden Prosser (4) battles for position against Columbia State in a match played earlier
this season. Prosser had seven goals and seven assists and was named 1st -Team All-TCCAA for the
regular season. (Photo Courtesy of Motlow State)

LYNCHBURG, Tenn. —The Motlow Bucks advanced to the women’s soccer TCCAA/Region 7 Tournament championship game with a convincing 5-0 win over Dyersburg State in the semifinals at Motlow on Monday.

Top-seed Motlow (12-2-3) will host #2 Columbia State (14-3-2) for the tournament championship on Thursday, October 26, at 3 p.m. Fans are encouraged to come early and tailgate. Admission is $6. The Chargers advanced with a 5-0 win over Southwest Tennessee.

Following Motlow’s win over Dyersburg State, the TCCAA announced regular-season awards. Earning First-team All-Conference honors for the Bucks were Camden Prosser, Alba Embid, Alysa Benton, Alexis McMath, and Kaite Jones.

Motlow and Columbia played twice during the regular season, with the Bucks winning 1-0 on Sept. 21 in Columbia. The teams played to a 0-0 draw on Oct. 1 at Motlow.

Motlow won its third consecutive TCCAA regular season title and is seeking its third straight tournament title and another trip to the NJCAA Women’s Soccer Championships. The TCCAA/Region 7 champion will advance to the NJCAA Central District Tournament, with the winner of that tournament advancing to the national tournament.

Prosser, Embid, Jones, Kinley Buena, and Bella Bravo each scored goals for Motlow. Grace Murray had two assists and Ellie Kirk added one.  Alina Arneth played 45 minutes at goalkeeper, Lucy Riddle played 30, and Leigha Resendiz played 15 minutes. Each had one save.

To follow more Motlow Sports, visit their website by clicking here. •

{The Lynchburg Times is a nonpartisan, independent community newspaper serving Lynchburg, Tennessee and the surrounding counties. We are dedicated to public service journalism for the greater good of our community. You can support us, by clicking here.}