Two MCHS students earn High School Heisman

High School Heisman Scholarship winners Alex Copeland and Greenlee Ward
MCHS seniors Alex Copeland (left) and Greenlee Ward (right) are the recent recipients of the Heisman High School Award. Photos Provided)

{Correction: The students did not receive the state award, and, therefore, they did not receive scholarship money with this award. Only those winners at the state level and beyond receive scholarship money.}

LYNCHBURG, Tenn. — The Heisman Trophy Trust recently announced that two Moore County High School seniors, Alex Copeland and Greenlee Ward, have won the Heisman High School Award.

The Heisman High School Scholarship was created in 1994 through a partnership between Wendy’s and The Heisman Trophy Trust. From its inception, the program has leveraged the reputation of the Heisman Memorial Trophy as a symbol of great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work.

Thousands of high school senior scholar-athletes graduating with the class of 2024 from 4,129 different schools across the country applied for the scholarship earlier this fall. From this talented group of accomplished, community-minded young men and women, more than 4,878 have earned the honor of becoming School Winners in the Heisman High School Scholarship competition awarded by The Heisman Trophy Trust.

One hundred of these School Winners will become State Winners with the opportunity to become part of our esteemed group of 12 National Finalists and ultimately be named one of our two National Winners. State Winners receive a $1,000 college scholarship, National Finalists receive a $2,000 college scholarship and the male and female National Winners will each receive a $10,000 college scholarship.

National winners will be announced on Thursday, November 30. You can learn more by clicking here. •

{The Lynchburg Times is a nonpartisan, independent community newspaper serving Lynchburg, Tennessee and the surrounding counties. We are dedicated to public service journalism for the greater good of our community. Click here to subscribe.}